

State of Louisiana

Louisiana Department of Health Office of Public Health Bureau of Emergency Medical Services

Emergency Medical Services Certification Commission

7273 Florida Blvd Baton Rouge, LA 70806

June 2, 2023

1) Call to Order: Chair Otha Henry called the meeting to order at 9:12 a.m.

2) Pledge of Allegiance

3) Roll Call

Commissioner Name		Commissioner Name	
Otha Henry, Chair	Present	Kirk LaCour	Present
Public EMS Agency		Louisiana Municipal Association	
Scott Thames, M.D., Vice Chair	Present	Brandon Lee	Absent
Louisiana State Medical Society		Professional Firefighters	
		Association	
Adam Oliver, Secretary	Absent	Casey McBeath	Present
Louisiana State Nurses Association/		Private EMS Agency	
Emergency Nurses Association			
Timothy Crockett	Present	Meg Marino, M.D.	Present
Emergency Medical Technicians		American Academy of Pediatrics	
Carl Flores	Present	Navdeep Samra, M.D.	Absent
Paramedic		American College of Surgeons	
Toby Henry	Present	Christopher Willoughby, M.D.	Absent
Louisiana Fire Chiefs Association		American College of Emergency	
		Physicians	
		Quorum	Yes

Bureau of Emergency Medical Services Staff

Susan Bailey, Director	Present
Stacy Barbay, Deputy Director, Commission Facilitator	
David McKay, Bureau of Legal Services	
Elton Heron, Bureau of Legal Services	

4) Approval of Minutes

The April 21, 2023 meeting minutes were approved with reading waived. Motion made by Dr. Meg Marino and 2nd by Adam Oliver. Motion carried unanimously.

5) Public Comment: None

6) Recurring Business

a) EMS Practitioner Disciplinary Ratification of Decisions

Shawn Sasser Shelby Cheathem

Haylee Louviere Juan Llado Phillip Reason Joel Paniagua Cecil Hill Martin Belote Alec Tinglehoff Nathaniel Burden Eric Bourgeois Kenneth Garner Brandon Walker Beaux Duhe Latonya Christor Andrew Heredia **Donald Lormand** Jacob Klinefelter Nicole Cefalu Daniel Wills **Taylor Jackson** Stephen Erwin Ashantis Venus Tiffany Davis **Emily Billiot** Kimberly Harris Robert Worchel Dean Shorba Amanda Clark Chad Franklin Alexandra Workman Ayden Olander

Jackie Berry Demi Duffy
Cole Sharai Jason Serrano
Justin Vallery Joshua Brown
Tyreka Page Robert Turybury

Motion to ratify these determinations made by Toby Henry and 2^{nd} by Adam Oliver. Casey McBeath abstained. Motion carried unanimously.

Phillip Castleberry

b) Scope of Practice:

Jeff Atkins

- Paramedic Oversight as it Extends to Advanced Practice Providers Performing under Medical Direction
 - (1) Dr. Megan Marino made a motion to write a position statement. 2nd by Dr. Scott Thames. Motion carried unanimously.
- ii) Needle Thoracostomies by AEMT
 - (i) EMSCC authorizes and promotes studies to be conducted by EMS agencies to promote and expand the scope of practice. Motion made by Carl Flores, 2nd by Kirk LaCour. Motion carried unanimously. Dr. Megan Marino abstained.

(ii) EMSCC supports a study by New Orleans EMS conduct a study of AEMTs performing needle thoracotomies in the event of traumatic cardiac arrest pending approval of IRB and submission by Dr. Marino to the EMS Certification Commission. Motion made by Carl Flores, 2nd by Kirk LaCour. Motion carried unanimously. Dr. Megan Marino abstained.

7) Old Business

- a) Substance Abuse/PTSD Treatment Programs tabled
 - i) Benefits for EMS Personnel tabled
- b) Federal and State Criminal Background Checks No new information.
- c) Commissioner Terms and Appointments Awaiting appointment by Senate for the LSBN seat. Interim appointments will be voted on by Senate during the legislative session.
- d) Application Questionnaire
 - i) Motion by Carl Flores to utilized the LSBN questions with amendments. 2nd by Adam Oliver. Motion carried unanimously.
- e) Legislative Update
 - i) SB 12: Requires an automated external defibrillator on the premises of all educational institutions and at sponsored athletic events. According to the Bill, the Bureau of EMS will be responsible monitoring compliance, awaiting final passage.
 - ii) HB 201: Provides for meetings of boards and commissions via electronic means. Passage of the bill will change the commission process, awaiting final passage.
- f) Scheduling of Attorney General Presentation
 - Available dates were requested to host the virtual presentations, Commissioners selected their available dates, Stacy Barbay will contact Attorney General's office to schedule and will forward via email to the Commissioners.

8) New Business

- a) Licensing and Medical Marijuana
 - i) Commission will not take any licensure action with respect to treatments prescribed or recommended treatment use by an EMS Practitioner by a physician. Commission may take action based on impairment or presents a danger or public safety will review for appropriate action. Motion by Scott Thames, 2nd Dr. Marino. Motion carried unanimously.

9) Next Meeting: August 18, 2023

10) Adjournment: Motion made by Casey McBeath and seconded by Carl Flores, motion carried unanimously to adjourn at 12:50 p.m.